Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

Instrument panel back-lighting and tail lights failing

36K views 25 replies 10 participants last post by  lilitoth 
#1 ·
I have a 2004 LC2 that's having a weird issue with the instrument panel and tail lights. Both with fail simultaneously... sometimes for a week at a time, sometimes for 5 minutes.

The instrument panel and console back-lighting simply will not work. Turn indicators will still flash, warning lights will still come on, but nothing is back-lit.

The tail lights will work if I hit the brakes, but otherwise, they won't light up.

These two things always fail together, so they're obviously connected somehow... I've bought my car in for service twice for this, but of course, everything happened to be working perfectly BOTH times I bought it in.

Has anyone run into something like this? I'm no electrician, but I'm guessing it's not a blown fuse because if that was the case, the lights wouldn't come on at all, right?

I'm ready to pull my hair out... driving in the dark with no dash/tail lights is a major pain. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

#2 ·
Has anybody checked out your headlight switch? That's the only thing that I can think of that's related - when you turn it to parking lights or headlights that tells your dash to illuminate (as well as your ACC stuff, such as climate controls) and of course your tail lights. I'd poke around and see if you can get that tested out somehow or possibly just swap it (if they're cheap enough....) to see if that helps - or just check for something simple like a frayed wire within your steering column cover where the lines all come out from that switch - or better yet where they solder on to the board...

#5 ·