Engine revs up to 3000-4000 rpm all by itself - Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 10-18-2009, 11:02 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , Non-US
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Engine revs up to 3000-4000 rpm all by itself

Yesterday, I was driving at about 40-45 mph, and all of a sudden the engine revs up to 3000-4000 rpms. I come to a stop light the engine is still at that same high level of rpms with my foot on the brake.Please help
hks1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 10-18-2009, 11:55 AM
Super Moderator
 
schwitzer turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cape town, Non-US
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to schwitzer turbo
does it stay at 3-4000rpm or does it fluxuate? check your idel control valve, sometine that piston gets stuck so spray so wd40/Q20 down there, dont feel afraid to soak it in the lubricant....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


(Youtube links and Dyno Graph @ car Domian)
____________
S-Coupe GT@270hp Daily driven 1500cc
schwitzer turbo is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 10-18-2009, 12:16 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , Non-US
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Stay at 3-4000 rpm and sometimes missfire.
hks1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 Old 10-18-2009, 12:17 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , Non-US
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
The idel control valve is new.
hks1 is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 10-18-2009, 12:46 PM
Super Moderator
 
schwitzer turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cape town, Non-US
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to schwitzer turbo
Check the accelerator cable is not getting stuck......

sometihing is sending more fuel when its not suppose too...

Throttle Body not getting stuck?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


(Youtube links and Dyno Graph @ car Domian)
____________
S-Coupe GT@270hp Daily driven 1500cc
schwitzer turbo is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 10-18-2009, 11:38 PM
Senior Member
 
187sks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Western WA
Posts: 13,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 187sks
Does it do it all the time or intermittently? All the time I suspect a vacuum leak or stuck TB. If it's intermittent the TB might stick sometimes. Either way it's an excessive supply of air to the engine that's causing it one way or another.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
187sks is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 10-19-2009, 06:51 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , Non-US
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
All the time
hks1 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 10-19-2009, 10:00 PM
Senior Member
 
187sks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Western WA
Posts: 13,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 187sks
Look for a large vacuum leak and take off the intake hose to see if the TB is closing fully. If you can't figure out where it's leaking start the car and block off the intake hose. The engine should die. If it doesn't listen for a sucking noise to locate the vacuum leak. If it does die it'll be the throttle body or the IAC valve not closing right.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
187sks is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 10-23-2009, 04:52 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , Non-US
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
The problem is error code P0340(camshaft) and P1507 idle air control underspeed error.
hks1 is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 10-23-2009, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
187sks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Western WA
Posts: 13,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 187sks
Sounds like your Camshaft Position sensor circuit has an issue, and the ECU thinks you are idling too low. Based on you saying that it idles really high I suspect that the Cam position sensor is bad unless there is an obvious issue with the wiring. The ECU thinks you're idling slow so it's maxed out the IAC valve trying to bring up your idle.

At least that's my best guess. i would look for a wiring issue and make sure the cam position sensor is plugged in securely and if it is I would get a new one.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
187sks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum > Technical Forums > NA Tuning and Hybrid Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome