Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
You guys on here have probably heard this a million times. im not very good with the jargon you use and im from the uk as well so i dont know how different your engine set up is but heres the story

I have a 1997 Hyundai accent coupe i (x3) and i want to put a hyundai coupe (1997) 2 litre dohc engine into it.

I have the engine, gearbox, clutch and all sensors.
I am looking to pick up a loom and ecu soon (if anyone has one i am looking to buy)

is there any step by step guide on here? any hints or tips?

i have heard there is an engine mount problem with the passenger side top mount am i right? if so howdo i solve this?

Any info at all on this would be much appreciated

Cheers

Danny:)

·
Registered
13,145 Posts
Yes sir, it is.:)

Came in 1.6l, 1.8l, and 2.0l versions in the UK. You'll generally want the 2.0l but the 1.8l is a good option also.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
alrready got me greasey mitts on the 2 litre :)

Well i think ill print off alot of the info on here n give it a whirl. can i scrap the cruise control too? as my x3 doesnt have it but the "beta" does

·
Registered
13,145 Posts
Yeah, it's unnecessary. You can just not hook it up and be fine. If it bothers you you can buy a big bore throttle body without cruise control on it.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
cool that sound slike a plan.

the accent loom i have already, can i plug the coupe ecu into it, and just replace the sensors to go into the coupe or do i need a whole new loom? thats one part of the hybrid thread that confused me. as some people said its plug n play, some say change EVERYTHING and some say piggyback it

·
Registered
13,145 Posts