Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all first time poster here, long time lurker for some time. Great website this is I've found many useful tips and hints and its great to just browse through the site and read up on things. I am posting my first thread in the hope of some help/hints in regards to my 1997 Sonata 2.0ltr 5speed. The car is my daily drive and I've had it for a couple of months now, it's been great and is also surprisingly good on fuel for its age. Anyway it has done a fair few kilometres in its time but it has been well maintained throughout its life. Ive bumped into a few problems which all seem to be wear and tear but am not sure how to exactly go about things. BTW I have plenty of mechanical experience (little on front wheel drives) and plan to do all the work my self.

First probelm i've had is the clutch (about 1 and a bit years old) - all was well untill I was stuck in traffic for a while on a warmer than usual day. Went to take off and it was slipping a fair amount which is the first time this has happened, also the car was under light/medium throttle load. However after taking the car out after a few hours of it sitting all was well and not a sign of slippage??? I loaded up the clutch bu using WOT in a higher gear while at lower speeds (which is when most slipping occurs) and it was fine. Is this a worn clutch problem or something else? Whats involved in changing clutch in a front wheel driver?

Second problem is right CV joint - it is starting to click around corners and since I will be working on the car soon I figure I might as well get everything sorted. I have replaced CV joints on a magna once, is it just a matter of wheel and brakes off, axle nut off and replace the joint on the drive shafts?

Also one wheel bearing has begun to squeal occasionally, I'm thinking to replace the both of them while work is being done. What is usually involed in this?