Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I have just recently purchased a 2000 Elantra with a bad engine (head and block were cooked). A 2004 Elantra came through where I work as a fleet mechanic for a tow company. I seen that they appeared to have the same engine 2.0... I removed the engine and installed it into the 2000. So we have a 2000 Elantra with a 2004 engine now. The sensors from the 2000 engine are what I put on the 2004 engine. The car started right up and runs really well so far, however I keep popping a P0342 code which is the cam positioning sensor has detected the TDC cyl. #1 twice in one revolution of the crank....I believe. So I did some research on the engine I installed and found out that it is a CVVT (constant variable valve trimming engine). The 2000 Elantra did not support the CVVT motor. So first question...with the CVVT not hooked up (oil flow vale left disconnected) will that affect the running of the car other then 3-8Hp? Second question...is there a different trigger ring on the cam in the 2004 engine than the 2000 engine that the cam positioning sensor is not picking up on. Third question...I checked on a schematic on the Hyundia service page to check the circuit, however all they had was a schematic for a 2004. Same three wires that run to the sensor...a ground, a positive 12 volt feed, and according to the page I should have 0 volts on the center wire off of the PCM until it is triggered. However I am getting 5 volts constant directly from the PCM. Is this the cause of the P0342 code or is this a normal reading. I really need one of you Hyundia dealer techs help on this one!!!!!

·
Registered
3,497 Posts