Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So my hyundai was my first car.
We bought it from a broker. My parents test drove it and the car was a surprise. I loved it but soon started realizing it was driving pretty terrible. It's an automatic and the transmission is VERY bumpy when switching gears. Especially with the a/c on. About a week after getting it, the CEL went on. We were told there was no problems on the car at all. We took it into a mechanic and he said there wasnt enough pressure in one of the cylinders. I have no idea what that means but he said it would be expensive to fix. Any ideas of what to do? Could he possibly have been diagnosing my car wrong?

·
Registered
51 Posts
well, i am no mechanic but i know how to get around google like i know my name.
There are three major leak paths where cylinder pressure can escape: past the rings, the intake valve, or the exhaust valve. We'll ignore the head gasket for now. With each of these three leak sources, it's easy to tell where the leakage is originating with some sleuthing. If you can hear a hissing sound coming from the valve cover breather hole or from the dipstick tube, then the air is escaping past the rings. If you prop open the throttle blades and hear that same hissing sound, then the pressure is leaking past the intake valve. If the air is escaping past the exhaust valve, you will probably be able to hear the air even as far back as the tailpipe
i got this from How to do Cylinder Leak Down Testing- Car Craft Magazine