Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey. quick question guys.
what would you think to be a good price to get my timing belt replaced?
97 tib, and im at 88,000 miles (supposed to be replaced at 60,000 i hear)
and knowing that, im a decent mechanic. is this too advanced of a job to attempt on a weekend?
i appreciate your input
rob

·
Registered
3,943 Posts
its more time consuming than anything really. i would say you can do it but it really depends on your patience level. having 2 people really helps the job along but ive done it myself. on a scale from 1-10 i would rate a timing belt on a tib about a 6. its not so hard but time consuming to get the motor mount off, and the splash guard around the belt can be a psin sometimes.

basically you remove the belts (PS, AC, alt, etc) then the crank pulley. then support the engine somehow (jack and 2x4 on oil pan) and take off teh engine mount. then take off the plastic splash guard on the top by the cam gear and then the rest of it thats connected to the block. from there you will se ethe tensioner. loosen the tensioner with the top 12mm bolt and pry the tension off of the belt and retighten the bolt (one of the thins where 2 ppl will come in handy). now just swap out the belts and retension the tensioner. theres different techniques to getting the timing right, probably the easiest is just to make sure the crank is at TDC before removing the belt. its a pain because you have to attach the belt, put the splash guard back on (because the timing marks are on the guard itself), slip the pulley back on (because the timing mark is on that as well) and then check it. if its not lined up (youre liable to be 1 or 2 teeth off) then remove everything and move it 1 or 2 teeth again until its lined up. the timing mark on the head is kinda hidden but if you know what youre looking at its apparent.