Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I decided to make my own bumper since too much is not available for my J1.

I got my hands on a defect from a factory by where I work. Its some sort of FORD bumper. I took 2 of them in case I screwed the first one up.

I cut the top off and test fitted it.

Then I cut some more off.

And here is a picture of the spare one...if anyone has any idea of what it came from let me know.

So anyways I was wondering if anyone knows of any good ways to attach the plastic bumper to the fenders. I assume Im going to be using alot of bondo. This is my first time doing anything like this so if you have any advice or tips, let me know.

·
Registered
6,330 Posts
looks like its from either a ford fusion or..something..

looks good..keep it up..i have a civic lip on my accent that fit with a bit of cutting and hacking

·
Registered
4,351 Posts
Yep thats a ford fusion. Why not get the factory fog lights? they will fit in those holes on either side.

Jed used this awesome screw way that i think would work good. Attached the bumper by screws, and cover the heads with bondo and paint. Cant even tell.

Use 'pan' head screws, and drill out the hole for the screws a little larger than needed. So the screw will sit a little inset into the bumper. then bondo and sand the screw flat, and paint.

And that would look really sweet on the car man. Now all you need is an intercooler to fill that big gaping hole in the front now. lol.

·
Registered
1,965 Posts
Well I dont know what you can do to atatch them together but I can tell you from experience that fiberglass will not bond with the plastic.

·
Registered
2,318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Im saving up for the 2.0 right now.
Its not a fusion bumper...its close but its not it.

I dont know if you can tell but in my first pic there is also a front lip of some sort. I might try to use that on the back of the car.

·