Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
706 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I am a licensed mechanic. Please if you do not feel comfortable with changing brakes then take it a person like myself

I have 7000kms on my 06 Accent and the OEM pads are just plain garbage for my braking needs. I like to have good initial bite with my brakes and stopping power once they are warm. After searching the net for Hawk, PBR, Axxis etc I couldnt find a company that made good aftermarket pads. Then I remembered my friend talking about these Wagner pads that seemed pretty popular with autocrossers. They are made of a semi metallic carbon ceramic material that had good intial bite and very very little fade once warmed.
So for 42$ Cdn I bought them.

Tools and supplys

3/8 ratchet, 12mm Socket
1/2 breaker bar with 21mm socket (or use stock lug remover)
1/2 ratchet with 17mm socket
Hammer and flat head screw driver
Impact screw driver or torch if needed.
1 jack and 2 jack stands
C clamp or channel locks
wire brush

Pads and Rotors
Brake cleaner
Anti Seize Compound
Caliper slider lube
Sand paper

1. Loosen lugnuts with a 21mm socket, then jack up the car and place jackstands under the front crossmember.

2. After making sure the car isnt going to fall on you, remove the wheel it should look like this

To remove the caliper bolt use a rachet and a short 12mm Socket and ratchet, lift up on the caliper you might have to pry if it doesnt come off. Slide off the caliper

should look like that.

3. Remove the lower slider, it should just pop out if it isnt siezed like 95% of the Hyundais I see. Clean the entire caliper in brake cleaner. Clean out the boot and slider and repack it with synthetic grease. I've tried alot of products and i've found super lube holds up really really well. The top slider is a pin attached to the Pad carrier. Clean it out with brake cleaner and repack.