Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just a thought I was just wondering if anybody has used E85 succesfully I know some dsm guys are converting and I was thinking of using this fuel with my new setup..

·
Registered
7,118 Posts
Ethanol has a higher octane rating so that’s great for boost, it just takes more of it to produce the same amount of power. I think ethanol has 75% of the BTUs as the same amount of gasoline. You will also need to replace lines with stainless and check the injectors for compatibility.

·
Registered
3 Posts
So be prepared to lose power and fuel economy. E85 is total BS. I am new here, but I have a background in alternative fuels and emissions. If you are talking about raace car engines and alcohol/ethanol substitution I have no experience whatsoever, but for the average driver, fuggettabout it.

·
Registered
7,118 Posts
with a turbo you can make more power, its just going to take alot more fuel to do it. Saab has a flex fuel that when it knows ethanol is in its tank it allows more psi from the turbo. Just make sure you have alot of fuel points driving that thing around :D

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ya I know it has a higher octane rating wich is good but fuel consumption sucks with the turbo setup im making it should be okay just alot of tunning and R&D. but I will be doing my part for the enviroment. any ways just a thought ill figure out wether to use it or not when my next turbo setup is done. I just wanted to know if anyone on this site has tried this yet...

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
oh as far as fuel points I have greddy emanage so ill tune for both e85 and pump gas so I can switch over at anytime..

·
Registered
21 Posts
ethanol