Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
687 Posts
*cringe*

If you really don't know how to do it, it's kinda hard and a little dangerous doing it for your first time. Bleeding the brakes requires 2 people unless you've got a nice bleeder valve in place for a gravity feed. Grab a friend who knows what he/she's doing. It's fairly simple once you do it the first time, but if you make a mistake, it's kinda bad...

Howie~

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
bleed brakes? i think we have our wires crossed lol

i want to know how to remove the discs/rotors
i have some mechanical knowledge. i worked in a garage for 5 years but that was over 13 years ago now:eek:

i found this on another site but its for a 1995 accent. i assume it will be the same for my 1998 mvi model?

Answer
The rotors bolt onto the back side of the wheel hub. You cannot remove them without removing the wheel hub itself. You'll need either a wheel hub puller or a slide hammer with a wheel hub adaptor to get the wheel hub off.

To replace a rotor:
1. Block the rear wheels.
2. Jack the front wheel in question.
3. Remove the wheel.
4. Unbolt the caliper from the knuckle.
5. Remove the cotter pin from the axle nut.
6. Remove the axle nut and washer.
7. Remove the wheel hub.
8. Remove the rotor from the wheel hub.
9. Bolt the new rotor onto the wheel hub.
10. Reinstall the wheel hub, using the axle nut to draw it into the bearing.
11. Remove the axle nut, and install the washer and axle nut.
12. Install a new cotter pin in the axle nut.
13. Reattach the caliper.
14. Reinstall the wheel.
15. Lower the vehicle.

·
Registered
427 Posts
Yup ... that's it.
Just be careful when you pull the hub so you don't damage the bearings.
Also, when you put the hub back in, make sure to torque it properly.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks
do you happen to know the torque settings by any chance?