Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:: Moderator, I saw some other post about gutted cats and it was closed, so i am aware that you dont like the idea of gutting the cats::

but i have a serious question and i need some answers....

IF the front cat was gutted on a 2.0L beta engine, would the computer start to go haywire? .. shooting troublecodes and all that mess ???


regards... Steve.<img src=/images/forums/snitz/angel.gif width=25 height=20 border=0>


<hr noshade width=60% size=1 align=left>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
464 Posts
as long as it is not between a pair of O2 sensors, removing a cat on pretty much any car won't do anything but make the exhaust dirtier and make the cats after it warm up a lot slower.


<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left>Yes, you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
492 Posts
The cat is no longer that restrictive, gutting it will not improve performance, there is still more restriction in the pipes. Oh as for trouble codes yes you will get them and start running mega rich since the car will think you have a burnt out cat, and no you can't fool it with tin foil.


<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left>http://webhome.idirect.com/~trini
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
This means anyone with 2 cats can't run headders, because the 2nd O2 sensor is placed in front of the second cat and does not take readings from after the second cat.


<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left>-Mike

2002 Champagne Elantra GLS 5sp
2001 Black Grand Am GT sedan

Edited by - Mike222002 on 02/11/2002 09:47:44 AM
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
the only thing i want to know, is if the computer will go crazy with the o2 sensor readings after the front cat is gutted...

in the event that it does go crazy... i can always use an O2 simulator that gives the computer a stoich reading and i can leave the o2 sensor tie wrapped to the chassis and i wont even need to have it hooked up at all.

just disconnect the harness.. and plug the o2 simulator onto the harnes.. leave the o2 sensor in the header and foggedabaaddit !!


hehehe




<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
the only thing i want to know, is if the computer will go crazy with the o2 sensor readings after the front cat is gutted...

in the event that it does go crazy... i can always use an O2 simulator that gives the computer a stoich reading and i can leave the o2 sensor tie wrapped to the chassis and i wont even need to have it hooked up at all.

just disconnect the harness.. and plug the o2 simulator onto the harnes.. leave the o2 sensor in the header and foggedabaaddit !!


hehehe




<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left>
<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote>

Where can I find an O2 sim for a 2002 Hyndai Elantra?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,344 Posts
<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
This means anyone with 2 cats can't run headders, because the 2nd O2 sensor is placed in front of the second cat and does not take readings from after the second cat.


<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left>-Mike


<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote>

Wrong.

The 1st o2 sensor is before the first cat on the exhaust manifold. The second o2 sensor follows the 1st cat, then to the second cat.

Therefore, you wire the o2 sensors before and after the cat at the end of the header and put the damn thing where its supposed to be: under the engine.<img src=/images/forums/snitz/thumbup.gif width=25 height=18 border=0>


<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left><b>KORE Crew #19</b>

"It's not the contest between racers that really matters, but the abstract dialogue between the soul of a racer and his machine." -Racer X
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
o2 simulators are available for chevrolet v8 z28 camaros.. you can buy them from www.summitracing.com I THINK.. you get the pair thats right, two of them for about $100.. your harness may not match the one from the z28.. but it can be spliced and hooked up to any car with a 3 wire heated o2 sensor like the hyundai elantras/tiburons... and such.


<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
492 Posts
The simulators are a ok idea but it's not so hard. Install headders with hi flow cat, first O2 goes before the cat but after where all 4 runners meet, the 2nd one goes after the cat. On Cali cars the 2 cats can get replaced with 1 good hi flow unit this the rear O2 sensor needs to be extended with new ( or self made ) harness.


<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left>http://webhome.idirect.com/~trini
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
the rear O2 sensor needs to be extended with new ( or self made ) harness.


<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left>http://webhome.idirect.com/~trini

<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote>

A "new" harness? Where can I find one? I'd rather not splice etc... I'd rather use connectors etc... to keep the original wiring in tact.


BTW thanks for the reply. <img src=/images/forums/snitz/thumbup.gif width=25 height=18 border=0>

Edited by - Mike222002 on 02/13/2002 09:05:45 AM
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
492 Posts
I made a new harness, it's just 3 wires, I cut the conectors off a old O2 sensor, wired it longer and presto. You can't buy but most decent shops can easily make one.


<hr width=60% noshade size=1 align=left>http://webhome.idirect.com/~trini
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top