Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all-

Newbie here.

I'm currently driving a 2004 Scion xB and I've come to my senses and realized $320 a month and $240 a month for comprehensive insurance is just too much to pay. I'm 33 and I have a clean driving record! I just pick the wrong ZIP codes to live in apparently!

Anyway, I've decided to sell this thing and take advantage of Scion's high resale value and Hyundai's relatively low resale values and get myself a nice Accent I think.

I will confess I used to be one of the doubters about Hyundai, that was until a good friend got a 2003 Accent. I was totally amazed by the build quality/solidness and the quality of the plastics, plus it had a real independent suspension instead of a torsion beam like my Scion. My opinion was changed forever at that point. 8D

So my question is, what can I get for $5-7000? I really want a hatchback Accent 5 speed with the 1.6 motor in excellent condition with under 50,000 miles, is that realistic? I've seen a number online but they were mostly for sale through dealers and overpriced IMO based on blue book.

Anything I should know about Accents? I'm not a boy racer, but I am a driving enthusiast, so I'd probably want to fit 15-16" alloys with good tires, a thicker rear anti-sway bar and possibly some coilovers down the road (do they make them for Accent)

Are there any advantages to choosing one year over another (within my price range)

How about the 1.5 engine? I hear some not-so-nice things about it. Is it easy to live with though or should I skip it?

One more: Do you guys have timing chains or belts on those things and what is the change interval? THANKS!

·
Registered
5,294 Posts