Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so, obviously, since I'm posting this in the newbies forum I am new here. I'm also very new to Hyundai. I never thought I'd buy a Korean car, but I was quite taken by the Azera. At any rate, about a month ago I purchased a 2007 Hyundai Azera Limited (with the Ultimate Package) after having one as a rental while traveling on business. I don't race, and I'm not much into visual modifications, but I do love a fun drive, especially on long highway trips. While testing the limits of the Azera (with the rental, of course ;) I discovered using my GPS that it tops out at 153mph with the 3.8L V6, which just so happens to be the engine in the Limited I got.

I would like to do some relatively low-key modifications, something that isn't easily observed, so as to preserve the dignified look and feel of the luxury sedan but still gaining the extra power. I have 3 goals. First, I'd like to be able to reach a top speed (GPS confirmed) of 200mph comfortably sustained (meaning I don't have to redline it in 5th gear on a flat to hit that). Second, I'd like to do it on a budget of $3000 USD. And, finally, third, I would like to do so in a manner which is undetectable without opening the hood or seeing the power in action.

I'm fairly well informed about cars, as far as the technical aspects go, but I don't work on cars myself ever, so I may need some explanation of any ideas you may have.

At any rate, I figure you guys know the stuff necessary to help me formulate a plan that would let me reach my performance goals, or just tell me I'm crazy and why so I can rethink things ;)

·
Registered
146 Posts
You'd have to do some major modifications to get it to go that fast. The standard I/H/E stuff likely won't be enough. Also, Hyundai really tightened the computer's parameters for the 07 model year, so people haven't been successful so far in overcoming that.