Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a relative newb when it comes to Hyundais as I've only had mine about six months but the engine seems to be running quite hot. I have the base Accent hatchback with the 12v engine. I'm burning quite a bit of oil and while the engine seems to be running very hot the needle on the temp guage never gets past 1/2 way. Is this normal? I'm putting about a quart of oil in every month. Car has 125k miles on it. Five speed transmission and commuting to work I maintain about 59 mph (getting close to 40 mpg).
I've thought of cutting the hood for some louvers and running an oil cooler, are these going to be helpful at all? Is the radiator sufficiently sized for these cars? Any help would be appreciated.
Reposted from the Accent forum.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Is the radiator sufficiently sized for these cars? Any help would be appreciated.
Reposted from the Accent forum.
i doubt the rad is to blame. i've got an x3 accent which came with the 1.5 sohc engine. its now got a turbocharged beta engine (250whp), but still has the original x3 radiator.

i've always wondered if the car would overheat, but it never has. so i'd guess your rad is not the problem.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I appreciate the input.
How accurate are these temperature gauges?

·
Registered
37 Posts