Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13,145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I'm changing the Accent's system from 2 10's in a bandpass box to 1 15" S15L5. I just can't decide on what kind of box to make/buy. Space is a bit of a premium, and I want to keep the weight down, but of course I want it to play loud and sound good. With an emphasis on loud, honestly.

I have no experience with these subwoofers personally so I do not know what they like or respond well to. I need a little help choosing what direction to go with this.

Factory recommendation for a sealed enclosure is between 1.5 cu ft and 6.0 cu ft. Pretty large range to choose from.

There are 3 designs they recommend for rectangular ported boxes. Compact - 3.0 cu ft, Street Bass - 4.5 cu ft, SPL/Deep Bass - 6.0 cu ft.

This will be in the hatch of my Accent, and my current box is about 6.0 cu ft total. I want a smaller box than that if it will sound good. If a 6.0 cu ft box will sound that much better than a 4.5 cu ft box I will do it, but I would prefer the 3.0 or 4.5 cu ft sizes. Should I go with a ported box? A ported box should be louder, so that's what I'm leaning towards. I have heard Solo-Baric's in sealed boxes but never in a ported box. Does it sound good in a ported box?

I would like advice/personal experiences/recommendations for setting this up so that it will be really loud and still sound pretty good. I listen to mostly rap and electronic music. I will be pushing it with a Phoenix Gold Tantrum 500.2, a little over 525watts RMS, lil over 1050 watts peak. It's a little below the 750wRMS, 1500wPEAK ability of the sub, but it should still work alright shouldn't it?

Thanks in advance for your help.:D

·
Registered
886 Posts