Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My friend and I plan to buy a hyundai fairly cheap (decent condition 01-03ish) and build it up gradually as we improve. (common: Wheels/Tires, Suspension, N/A Bolt Ons)

Ruling out a tiburon due to insurance (we are in our early 20s and this is an extra car) and we want to do the majority of the work ourselves in my garage. (I have some experience with suspension work) At this point in time an engine swap is ruled out as well as forced induction. (Basic mechanical skills betweens us, just maintenance knowledge) and are hoping to use this as a learning experiance. Handling a slower car well, before jumping into a super quick car or something heavily modded.

We like the size, weight, and nimbleness of an Accent 1.6l 5spd, however we enjoy the power and results seen in the Beta engines especially modified. Being that we have ruled out putting a Beta engine in an Accent at this time we need advice on which platform to run with. We are aware that driving skills weigh more heavily here than the difference between the cars, however we'd like some outside opinions.

Can we make the bigger, bulkier Elantra handle as good as we can the Accent? I know we cant put down similiar numbers going N/A Alpha build up route. Which would you lean towards and what makes you pick one over the other?

Thank you in advance for any insight.

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
That's an interesting question. I was recently looking into AutoX classes and engine swaps put you into the modified category which i'm thinking would have much more experienced drivers.

I would lean towards the Elantra only because there is a lot more aftermarket support for the XD and you'd be able to keep it competitive without as much custom work as the accent would require. that's my opinion and mine only.

·
Registered
13,145 Posts