Hyundai Forum: Hyundai Performance Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
706 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just had 1st and 2nd gear in my car replaced under warrenty at the dealer. I've noticed a few times already that labour seems to the cheap and so do most of the services. I'm a mechanic by trade and usually do all the work on my cars myself.

Today I was picking up my car after a week of driving an 07 MC loaner. While looking at the prices again I decided to actually let the dealer start servicing my car. Example- an oil change is 25.95 at Hyundai and they use semi synthetic oil which is ok. Now for me to do an oil change i would have to buy the OEM filter for 9$ and the oil another 20$. It's just not worth the hassle to get the "satisfaction" of DIY... perhaps if you work on cars occasionally. Lets move on a coolant change at the dealer is 49.95$ and this is what sold me. For 50$ it's just not worth it..

Oh yeah and the timing belt change is 226$.. my cost on parts is nearly 160$ so off to the dealer for that as well.

For Normal servicing the dealer seems to be the place to go.

·
Registered
6,330 Posts
yeah.you got me there..cost to benefit ratio trumps our precious DIY Status Quo.

i started taking my family vehicles to jiffy lube,

Oil..$24
Filter..$3
Gas burned to dirve to gte these supplies..$8

total:$35

Jiffy Lube Basic Oil change:$29
Gas consumed to drive there..barely $3..only a 7 min drive.

·
Registered
76 Posts
i dont know the dealer prices here, but since im not a mechanic by trade working on my car is fun for me... thats why im not a mechanic by trade, i don't want to ruin my fun.

·
Registered
332 Posts